top of page
  • WestWard Media (Facebook)
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

A Month In The Life Of Amanda Adams: March

Updated: Apr 17, 2021


GREETINGS EVERYONE!!!

It is with great privillege once again to say we are here with another installment of our new blog series on the "Magnificent, Beautiful, Talented, Kindhearted, Everything-Splendid-In-Life" Amanda Adams. Sorry this 2nd installment is a little late, we had some scheduling difficulties and other uncontrollable circumstances to overcome. The important thing is that we are here to once again share everything going on with this Gifted Providence Native Singer-Songerwriter.

As per usual, I could easily spend a million hours talking about everything there is to love about Amanda, and as per usual, I feel it is best to just jump right into the discussion. This is certainly an entertaining month to discuss with everything going on in March; St. Patrick's Day, Woman's History Month, and so much more. Now let's get right into my chat with this lovely daffodil.

 

Brenden: First let's start with your music. 1) What new songs have you written this past month? Where did the Inspiration for these songs come from? 2) Have you been recording or mixing any songs? What kind of equipment are you using? What instruments? 3) Have any interesting events transpired this past month that you're thinking of writing a song about?



Amanda Adams: Hey Brenden! Great questions, thanks for asking!

1.) I wrote a pretty weird song this month that I’m kind of excited about because it’s really different from my typical style. It’s a song about a couple buying a house to start their happy life together from a couple who is getting divorced and selling their house. It’s totally made up but I thought of it because I passed a house and a sign out front said “Sale Pending”. I was wondering what that meant and created a detailed story around the sale of the house falling through because the young happy couple finds a their dream house somewhere else, leaving the divorced couple stuck in the house they’re trying to sell!

2.) I’m still just working on recording a couple of the old ones. I use a MOTU M2 interface and I forget the name of the mic atm. 🙈

3.) Yes! I’m actually traveling in Puerto Rico right now so I kinda want to write a happy little travel song. ☺️

Brenden: Now let's go into work life:

How've you been holding you at your new job lately? Is it getting any easier? I know some nights you must come home exhausted. What do you do when you get home from long days?


Amanda Adams: Work has been great thank you! Like I said, I’m on vacation right now (being fully vaccinated and all!) but I really like my job and coworkers. When I’m tired after a long day, I just want to eat and force my dog to take all my love.



Brenden: Next up, a follow up on your PATREON Page.

1) Have you gained any more supporters? Is the pledge of ion still the same?

2) Have you gotten to post any exclusive content on your page yet?

3) What would you say to try to convince more people to join your PATREON?


Amanda Adams: After getting back from this trip, I plan to focus a lot more on my patreon page. I have some cool ideas that I’m so excited to share! I did post an exclusive video on my patreon (my first post, for March) and it’s a cover of one of my favorite songs with some harmonies! I’ve never posted a cover like that before and I had SO much fun making up the parts so I definitely want to do more. I would say to anyone thinking about signing up that I’ll be putting most of my effort into my patreon, so if they want some unique content, check it out. 😉


Brenden: Now let's go into your videos.

1) What can you tell us about your most recently released cover video?

2) Where was this filmed? How did you find the spot? What made you choose this location?

3) What made you choose this song? What does it mean to you?

4A) Have you filmed any more videos that have yet to be released? What hints can you give us about those videos and the song choices?

4B) Any more videos planned for the upcoming months? What hints can you give us on those videos? Any original song music videos? What kinda of locations are you interested in filming your videos?



Amanda Adams:

1.) The most recent full length cover I did was “These Days” by Jackson Browne. It’s a beautiful song that I tried to keep as simple as possible.

2.) The spot where I filmed is near my house and I love the rundown and rustic-y look of a lot of the buildings out there. I also love how it divides into two colors.

3.) My friend Steve Dennis showed me this song a while back and we love to sing it when we get together. So it’s not only a compelling song, but now sentimental for me too ☺️

4.) I have! I filmed a video of a Billie eilish song in my living room with some cool paintings in the background :) that’ll be a simple one for Instagram and YouTube again but I also have a big cover idea coming up and will be doing more involved ones on my patreon page. I’m interested in filming in any unique location. I try to match the background a bit to the feel of the song so it makes sense. I might have a little tropical one coming up after being in PR!


Brenden: Now I'd like to discuss some fun topics. Let's first chat about your recent activity, Rock Climbing.

1) When did you first join this gym? Is this your first time tock climbing or have you always been doing this.

2) How many times a week do you get to go over?

3) What does rock climbing help you through?

4) How often have you managed to teach the top? Does each time you come up short motivate you to push further not only there but in life and your goals?

5) What do you love most about it?

6) What's you approach when you're rock climbing? Do you take a lot of risks going up, fast paced, or slow and careful?

7) Is it easier for you to climb with sneakers, specialized shoes, socks, or barefoot?



Amanda Adams: Great questions!

1.) I joined just for the month of March because there was a deal that made it very affordable so sadly, my membership is up. There is a deal for $12 with gear past 9pm though, so I may be going back for some late night climbs! 😜

2.) I was going once or twice a week

3.) rock climbing was the most exciting way (aside from biking!!) for me to exercise

4.) I reach the top on every climb that’s in my level. I got a little bit better every time I’d go so my level was improving but I’m still an intermediate beginner. Yes it’s definitely a challenge to keep going at the same wall you keep falling off but all the more worth it once you get it, like anything else.

5.) I love how satisfying a difficult climb is. Achieving new climbs is exhausting and exhilarating!

6.) That depends too! If it’s a climb out of my level, I am careful and thoughtful, trying to get to the top for the first time but on climbs I’ve done a lot, I sometimes try to go as fast as possible!

7.) They actually provide special rock climbing shoes that you have to climb in!



Brenden: Going Into Guitar Practice.

1) I see you've been trying to learn how to shred. How has that been going for you? Have you broken a lot of chords trying to learn this?

2) Have you received any helpful tips on this field?

3) What made you want to learn this guitar technique? Any song or artist in particular inspire you to try?



Amanda Adams:

1.) hahah that was a little bit of a joke, but I do want to get better and think I will with the help of some friends. I more want to focus on singing though.

2.) I definitely received some excellent practice tips from some very talented friends once I made that post asking for advice.

3.) I really just want to be able to solo and have a much better understanding of the notes on the fretboard!


Brenden: For March, I'd be remissed to not bring up both Woman's History Month & St. Patrick's Day.

1) I understand you did a 23 & Me test. I know you love traveling to Ireland. Did you have any doubts before about your heritage, or did you just want to do this for fun or to explore you history a little further?

2) Did you find out anything interesting about yourself or your heritage? Was it a fulfilling experience?

3) What did you do to celebrate St. Patrick's Day? Anything fun, or did you keep it casual? You sing any Irish songs? What are some of your favorite Irish songs to sing? Does your mother have any favorites that she asks you to sing sometimes?

4) What does Woman's History Month & International Woman's Day mean to you? How do you celebrate? Who are some woman who inspire you? Of course, your mother & Norah Jones. What do they teach you? Anyone else who inspires you?

5) How do you hope to inspire others?



*Ok, So I'd like to go back to the topic of Ireland.


6) How many trips have you taken over there? Did you go up to see family, friends, just for vacationing, to get closer to your routes?

7) What are some of your favorite memories down in Ireland? What are some of your favorite sights and places to go down there?

8) Do you have any favorite Irish dishes? Side Note: Apparently they don't have Lucky Charms down there.

9) What's your favorite song from Celtic Thunder?

10) What would you love to do if you ever get the chance to go down to Ireland again?


An Irish Angel In A Meadow


Amanda Adams:

1./2.) I do LOVE Ireland. I figured I’d be mostly Irish but I was reallllly hoping I’d find out I was something unexpected and cool like Portuguese. I did 23&Me mostly to find out about the health stuff actually- it was very interesting!

3.) I did just keep it casual for paddy’s day. Got dressed up in green and had a couple drinks. ☺️🍀 My mom and I used to love a band called Celtic Thunder and know every word to all of the songs on their first two albums so I’d mostly sing those if I were to sing anything Irish!



4.) Great questions. I guess I just reflect often on the way society treats men and women differently and what it means for women to feel safe, successful, respected, etc. vs. what it means for men. I am amazed by the amazing women in my life (friends, my wonderful cousin, my mother of course) for the way they carry themselves and what they’ve achieved.

5.) I hope to inspire others to be non-judgmental, open, and loving, and to pursue their dreams (like I’m doing with music.)



6.) I’ve been to Ireland 3 times, but once was to live there for five months for study abroad so it feels like I’ve been there many more times! Haha the first time I went, my grandfather generously sent my mom and I on a beautiful tour of the country to learn more about our roots. Then I went back once after studying abroad to visit the the Irish lad I was dating at the time!



7.) I just loved the atmosphere. It immediately felt like home. I love the smell, the chilly rain, the green everywhere, it’s so beautiful. I also loved the ability to easily travel to other countries in Europe!



8.) hahah I didn’t know that about the lucky charms. I’m a vegetarian and unfortunately a lot of Irish food it meat based, so I didn’t have an amazing food experience there but I had a kitchen to cook my own food in and like I said, was fortunate enough to travel to other countries with tasty cuisines (and lots of gelato!)



9.) Oh I used to love them! I knew every word to all their songs at one point. It would probably have to be “a Lauren & I”, though it wasn’t sung my former heartthrob Damian McGinty.



10.) Haha live there! I really like living in new places and I’d love to try living in Ireland not as a student. I think there are a few other stops on the moving-around docket first though. 😉



*Thank you again for always having interest in my life and music!


Brenden: Of course we have to discuss your recent live stream.

1) What brought on the decision to do a live stream?

2) What songs did you perform that night?

3) Do you plan on doing another live stream this month?

4) Tell us about your friend who you performed with? How did you two come to meet? How long have you been playing music together?

5) Did you stream just via Facebook or Instagram as well?

6) What's the process like to get all set up for one of these shows? Is it complicated? How long does it take?



Amanda Adams:

1.) I don’t even remember why I decided to do it that particular night but I just really miss performing and interacting with people regarding music things!

2.) I did the couple originals I’m planning to release and a few upbeat covers ☺️

3.) I’d love to do another livestream this month but will have to prepare better than last time!

4.) He’s a very talented musician that I meet at the Lizard Lounge Open Mic in Boston a while back. He’s the lead singer and songwriter for the Missouri Pacific and we’re actually not just friends, but dating ☺️ we hadn’t really played much music together before that night though!

5.) I streamed to both but the stream on IG was a little messed up!

6.) It depends. Sometimes, like for the EP release shows I did last summer, it takes a bit and I go through my interface and another streaming service (OBS) but most recently I just used my mic through FB.


Thanks again for asking all these questions, Brenden. I really appreciate your interest in my life and music!


Brenden: It is my absolute pleasure to share your story with the rest of the world Amanda.... Always. ☺️

 

And with that, we have concluded our 2nd installment of the brand new series on The Remarkable Amanda Adams! Thank you all for your patience with this March blog. Hopefully we'll have the April blog up much sooner at the end of this month/start of next month. I would definitely in the near future love to do "Inside Look" with Amanda. Perhaps finally get a chance to discuss a past music project of hers, "Aurevoir Music".


It has truly been "One Of The Greatest Privileges Of My Entire Life" to share Amanda's story with all of you. Her entering my life has absolutely become one of the greast gifts of said life.


Much Love Amanda, Always.

Until Next Time.


 

Amanda Adams Social Media:


Redwood Rain Social Media:


 

If you haven't already, be sure to join Amanda Adams' Patreon so that you can help support her in her music journey. Link down below:



 

Thanks again for all the support, both for WestWard Media & Amanda herself.

This is my mission; to help support people like her, bring creativity to life, share inspirations and spread beauty throughout with the unexpected.



133 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page